Getting Things Done

It was a long stressful week at work. Things have gotten a little awkward but I’m just making the best of everything and enjoying the time I have left. I have learned so much already and I am incredibly blessed to have experienced this opportunity.

Friday was splendid because I was able to talk with one of the designers and learn a little more about their work, Hopefully I will soon also be able to create something on my own. The day was also wonderful because I posted my second blog post on the Golin tumblr. I love blogging so it was an honor to create content and share it with the team. The director of the whole office, Ginger, even commented that she enjoyed my post. My lunch on Friday was crazy because I edited my resume and applied for a job. I barely even had time to eat but it was worth it because later that evening I heard back about setting up an interview. After spending three months applying for jobs before coming to Golin, I appreciate it when I even hear back from a job. In the digital age, I’ve noticed that while it is easier to find and apply for jobs, that doesn’t mean most of them will even respond. Regardless of how it turns out, I am blessed to have heard back.

I have been in a funk lately so I didn’t go bowling with my friends but that gave me the time to update my LinkedIn again and to start working on my online portfolio. I ended up almost finishing my portfolio and I had the chance to relax which was just what I needed. In the morning, I decided not to go on my run because I wasn’t feeling well and I hadn’t properly trained. I felt really discouraged but it gave me a chance to finish my portfolio. I wanted to end on a good note though so I headed to a explore a new part of Dallas! Every month in Deep Ellum there is an outdoor market so I made my way down to Deep Ellum. I had never been before so I was happy. While it was neat to see a new part of town I was a little disappointed with the size of the market. I was glad I went though because the area was full of artwork and quirky sculptures.     On Sunday, I headed to church as normal. Everyone went to class and/or service before all coming together for an amazing Friendsgiving! There were so many people there and a ton of food. It was lovely to chat with everyone and hear their holiday plans. I talked with a group about the best things to do in Dallas and I’m excited to do a lot of touristy things before going back to Wisconsin. I really love my friends from church and I will be sad when I have to go back home. I also talked to my friend Allison, so if nothing comes up, I will be going to Mississippi for Thanksgiving!    It was a long week and weekend but I got quite a lot accomplished and I found time to have fun too. Moving to Texas has been a gift and I am proud of what I have accomplished.

2 thoughts on “Getting Things Done

Leave a comment