Making Strides

I had a rough couple of weeks. I’m not going to lie. Life has been a struggle. Despite all the hardship, I decided that it’s time to do something for me. With a reminder from my friend Christy, I signed up to run the Bellin Run.


The Bellin Run is a 10K race that takes place the second week in June every year. I used to run it every year in Elementary School/Middle School. Since it has been quite a bit since I’ve been in either I’m extremely excited for an epic flashback! I’ve been quite bummed out for a while now and this has race has me hopeful again.

At the end of last year, I ran 7 miles so I know I can kick this 10K’s butt! The Bellin Run is only 6.2 miles so I know I am going to be successful! My time may not be anything to brag about but I have a long way to come before I will be ready. I’m ready to get back in my healthy habits and change my life.


The nice thing about the Bellin Run is that they have a training schedule online. I was lucky that I signed up now because the training schedule starts on Easter Sunday aka this Sunday. The training schedule doesn’t look so bad and now that daylight savings time has passed, there are more hours of the sunlight and more time to run outside. I’m grateful that my friend Christy also signed up because I will have a running buddy. Unfortunately, she doesn’t live in Madison, so I won’t have a running buddy for the training. I will have a friend on race day though so that is fantastic.

I’m definitely a little bit nervous about the race because I’ve been having a few problems with my asthma. The reason I stopping running last year was because I couldn’t breathe. I’m not too worried though because I have doctors that can help me and I’m really motivated. This is going to be the best 10K ever! Bring on June 11!

Leave a comment