I Can Cook

One of the nice things about going home is the chance to learn how to cook meals I had always loved when I was a kid but never had a chance to make on my own. During my recent trip home, I asked my mom to include me in the making of lasagna. If anyone knows how to cook or has ever cooked lasagna knows that this is no difficult task and could easily be considered a basic level of baking.

Regardless of the level of difficulty, I was happy to learn and excited to cook with my mom. Since my grandma had died, we had simplified holiday cooking and meals. Meals for the family could be done by one person and having more than one cook was almost a hazard unless each had their own tasks that didn’t overlap.

My mom kind of laughed when I asked for her to teach me because there really wasn’t much to learn. I was thrilled, though. We were making a simple lasagna that meant we weren’t cooking and adding meat. The longest part of the prep process was getting the noodles ready. After the noodles were cooked the layering process began.

I’ve eaten countless lasagnas before but I never actually knew the specific layers other than cheese, noodles, and sauce. We quickly put everything together. It took a little longer than expected only because I took so many photos to recount the event later. I’m sure my mom was trying not to roll her eyes as I stopped at every layer.

Once everything was put together, we put the lasagna in the oven and started on the sides. After everything was hot and ready, we made our plates and enjoyed the meal. Everything was cooked perfectly although I may have put a little too much sauce.

After a tasty dinner, I was really proud and happy I was able to recreate a childhood favorite.

One thought on “I Can Cook

Leave a comment